Add Team Menu Item

About Us

Category:
Action Team
Description:
Engaging farmers, ranchers, foresters as individuals and organizations in climate solutions.

Ag Action Team Monthly Call

When: 2nd Tuesdays
Time: 9 am PT – 10 am MT – 11 am CT – 12 noon ET
Where: On Zoom
Join via computer
Join via phone at 1-929-205-6099  
Meeting ID 934 591 8056

Recordings of Recent Calls:
March 10, 2020 (discussion of study of impact of EICDA on ag by Bruce Johnson)
February 11, 2020 (Ron Trimmer talking about the discount for cover crops in Illinois) 
Jan 14, 2020 (with ag action team members)
July 9, 2019 (with Debbie Reed, Ecosystems Services Market Consortium)
Group:
Public
Members:
280

More Info

Potential Secondary Ask Bills in Congress
Soil Health/Carbon Sequestration Bills in State Legislatures

Farmers and ranchers and foresters have the potential of becoming climate heroes by changing land use practices so that their systems create a net sink of greenhouse gases.  They are the ones who can most efficiently scale up the effort to extract carbon from the air and store it in plants and soil.

The Ag Action Team is collecting bills that help farmers, ranchers, and/or foresters changing their land use practices so that their systems create a net sink of green house gases.

If you know of such a bill in Congress right now, please add it to this tracking spreadsheet for Potential Secondary Ask Bills.

If you would like to help vet these bills and determine the top three to submit to Danny and Ben for review, please add your contact information to the second page of the spreadsheet.  Thanks.



CCLJune2019 Agriculture Lobbying Resources

Presentation Slides Information/Fact Sheets Videos
Files  
Grasstops Outreach

Coalition on Agriculture Greenhouse Gases
CCL volunteer Jan Storm serves as our delegate for this relationship.

Organic Consumers Association
Alexis Baden-Mayer, Political Director, has offered to connect CCL chapters with farmers.  These farmers may be willing to host a tour for a member of Congress of their farm with a CCL chapter.


National Young Farmers Coalition
Would you like to reach out to young and beginning farmers?  The National Young Farmers Coalition might be a good place to start looking for connections.  Jan Storm, Kelly Lively, and Elli Sparks met with Michelle A.T. Hughes, Federal Policy Associate, while in DC for the CCL Conference in June 2019.   She is open to collaborating in the following ways:
  • Their Communications Director is leading the effort to craft a climate statement with case studies - if you would like to follow up with them on this, please contact Elli
  • Elli will help with connecting CCL staff with Young Farmers policy staff at the state and federal level
  • You can help by Introducing any young farmers in the CCL network with Young Farmers and vice versa

 

Upcoming Events

No Data Available

Recent Group Discussion

Relevance