Are You A White CCL Volunteer? Let’s Talk.

Average Rating:
Recommendations for important actions white CCL volunteers can take to help our organization be a welcoming, supportive place for the people of color who are already in our chapters, and the people of color we hope will join in the future.

Hey, folks. I’m Flannery Winchester, CCL’s Communications Director. Today I’d like to talk to you about racism. I’m not an expert, and I might not get this exactly right. But I know—without a doubt—that members of our CCL community are hurting deeply right now because of the recent racist incidents that have been in the news. As this article points out, “Here’s a newsflash for all the white people unaware of this fact: your Black colleagues may seem okay right now, but chances are they’re not.” CCL’s director Mark Reynolds has written a statement to denounce the injustice we’ve seen and to acknowledge the structural barriers our volunteers of color are up against. 

But this is a conversation that white people need to have, too. Staying silent when harm is being done is essentially saying you accept, or even condone, that harm.

So let’s talk about what’s been going on. 
838f1c9a60eccebebbfe3c4b75579846-huge-le

That article continues, “Over the last few months, Black people have not only watched their friends and family members die at higher rates from the coronavirus, they have also watched people who look like them be gunned down while going for a jog, be murdered in their homes, and threatened while bird watching in Central Park, and mercilessly choked on camera.” The last example references a Minneapolis police officer who killed a Black man named George Floyd, which touched off recent protests. It’s not just that one incident that’s causing pain—it’s the pattern of violence and inequality that persists in America and manifests in many different ways.